Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
IPS gearbox and clutch life? - Engine & Ancilliaries/Gearbox - TLF - Totally Lotus Jump to content

IGNORED

IPS gearbox and clutch life?

Hi all

I'm still very new to Evora's and am actively looking for a car at the moment. I'm generally focused on the colour and spec I want more than the gearbox and know that due to the limited production numbers I may need to compromise on something to help me find a car. I was all for needing a manual gearbox for driver involvement but I've seen a car that ticking all the boxes but it's an IPS box. I wondered if anyone could help me with a pros and cons list for the IPS box. What does it do really well, where is it not so good?

I've owned autos before and actually quite like the more relaxed driving in towns/traffic so I am definitely open to them. Also I heard that clutch life on manual Evora's is generally pretty good but when they go it's a big job to replace. Is the IPS a torque converter and is it known to failing and need replacing/repairing? Wondering if a benefit of an IPS might be not having to worry about costs due to clutch replacement.

Thanks

Trev

IPS is a torque converter. It’s a Toyota part, have not heard of them breaking.

Early gearboxes and clutches sometimes had premature wear, and yes, replacement is a big job. But to my mind, a Lotus is naturally a compromise on daily driving anyway - getting in/out, visibility, etc. So I would choose a manual 10 times out of 10. If buying an involving car, I don’t see the point of taking away the one thing that makes driving interesting to me!

Hi Trev,