Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
Waste gate - Induction/Turbo/Chargecooler/Manifold/Exhaust - TLF - Totally Lotus Jump to content

IGNORED

Waste gate

I'm looking for a wast gate actuator, with hose access both sides of the diaphragm, so I can adjust the pressure. Has any one done this, or is there a better way? I only want to go to 1.2

Roger

Life is like a sewer, what you get out of it, depends on what you put into it. (Tom Leahrer)

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would just buy the upgraded wastegate capsule.. .you can also simply increase tension on the rod.. but this has one small undesirable effect -- you no longer have a lower (0.5 bar) boost level for engine warm up.

Modifying esprit's.. now that's fun..

PS... I AM NOT A CERTIFIED MECHANIC.. I Have chosen to help those in need, in the past and must not be construed as being a certified technician.

Roger,

You only need an uprated one and you can adjust by the rod length or tap into it with a boost controller or bleed valve. The ones on my site are alloy with stainless steel rods. You can take apart and also fit different springs to give you even more flexibility. Standard spring is green 5-10PSi and the next one up is yelllow 9-15PSi. I think this will be enough but I have supplied a blue spring to someone once.

Dave Walters

My thinking on this is as Mark points out up the boost you up the boost. I'd be happy with no boost around town suburbs, shopping, but out on the open road I want to give it the big welly!

So adjustable boost seems to be the go, ideally zero to 1.2, that should about do it. I'm just looking for the best way of achieving it. I think it is probably advisable to fit a re-circulating blow of valve before I do this.

Roger

Life is like a sewer, what you get out of it, depends on what you put into it. (Tom Leahrer)

Hi Roger,