Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
Electronic throttle to manual? - Lotus / Motoring / Cars Chat - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

IGNORED

Electronic throttle to manual?

Just a query. If a engine is fitted with an electronic throttle how easy is it to fit a manual throttle body instead? I want a cable operated one which will be much simpler for my application

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Wayne,

Im no electrics expert but would say it would be simpler to keep it electric, the throttle pertenshiometer or however you spell it would be a pain to replace in my eyes, best bet is to see Hilly as hes a bit of an electric guru and knows his stuff. That said the switch on the throttle pedal would not be that hard, you would need to get this of the car it came out of. regards danny

A

Danny

I thought it would be far easier to just fit one that is cable operated. Punky has done this on his using the mondeo manifold and therefor i fugured it cant be that much of a job but i may be wrong.

HILLY................ Where are you hiding!!

Most electronic throttles I've seen still hve throttle position sensor pentiometers so in theory you should be able to replace it fairly easily as long as the TPS is compatible.

However the only questionmark would be how the ECU would react to not seeing the throttle position reported.

For example, in the toyota elises with electronic throttles it has two pedal sensors mounted out of phase - if the resultant signal doesn't add up to 1 (give or take a very small margin) then it'll default to a crippled limp home mode.

If you are changing the ECU at the same time then obviously not a problem :lol:

ads/green

I will be running with an aftermarket ECU system so hopefully i can do that. Have tried searching the internet for answers but not had any joy.