Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
TYRES CHOICE 2021 - Ride/Handling/Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tyres - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

IGNORED

TYRES CHOICE 2021

What is the tyre choice for an Elise owner in 2021?

I'm asking for your tyre feedback - as much of the information I can find on the net is a few years old and irrelevant.

I'd love your 'actually user experience'.

I have an Elise tuned to 300bhp.  It has mismatched tyres and I've just completed my first year of ownership... so I'm sure any new tyres will feel hugely better, as I have no Lotus experience of other tyres.

It a fast road car... Not a track car.

Choices I've short listed are:

Yokohama V105 - an older tyre but one which still is loved by users, but not so much in comparison tests. It OE on the Elise right now along with Porsche, BMW, etc... and is their 'best' fast road tyre.

Yokohama 08r - a loved tyre but now discontinued and poor in the wet, but maybe a little too track bias for my fast road car.

Yokohama 08rs - the new 08r, but initial feedback is not great

Yokohama Ao52 - great, but costly and a short life.  OE on the 250 CUP Elise, but do owners put a 2nd set on?

Nanking N-2R - a Track/road tyre which has some great reviews and medium life.

So, in a car bought to be used and played with all year, what would be a great tyre to play on Sunday mornings, drive to the alps to do a few mountain passes and so on...

Thanks for your feedback...

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

I run A052 and I'm on my third set of rears, they are superb and I will continue to run them but they are expensive.

I have run them from "new" 6mm until 4mm, as I've changed them before long roadtrips each time, not wanting to risk driving home on bald tyres (less than 2mm for example). So I have 4x rears at home with 4mm each :D