Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
Elise S3 DRL - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC/Other - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

With the ignition switched on, only one DRL lights up. When the sidelights are switched on, both lights come on (with the correct lowered brightness). Has anyone got any idea what the fault could be? I cant find a wiring diagram for this model, so any help would be appreciated please?

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Gold FFM

@Cooperman103 here are the wiring diagrams for the MY12 Elise that I have if that's any help. It could be a wiring issue between fuse C8 on sheet A4 and the DRLs on sheet D1 maybe?

2012 DRL circuit diagram.PNG

2012 DRL circuit diagram #2.PNG

Lover of everything Lotus Cars and proud owner of production Evora No.75 (2nd UK customer specced car by VIN). Originally from the Far East....of Anglia, I read black box data for a living so that could explain a lot!

image.png.9db97d94b90c8d44f75911ca24efff36.png

Thanks very much Mark, I definitely couldn't have done it without the diagram!

I've now found that both L&R DRL lights are illuminated OK when the engine is running, but only L when the ignition is on. This means its getting a good supply from the EMS, but not the C8 fuse. It can only be a disconnection, or poor connection from pin 5 on the lights multi-plug to the fuse. I'll post on here what I find. Thanks again.

• Like 1

This fault has proved to be the headlight unit itself. I'm guessing there's a printed circuit board within the light assembly that has gone faulty. As its fairly easy to open the light unit using a hot air gun to warm up the glue to get inside it, I'm now looking for a replacement PCB for the L/H headlight. If anyone has a smashed headlight unit or just the PCB out of one I would like to get in touch with you.

• 3 months later...