Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
ABS Disable - Better Brake Feel? - Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Hubs/Steering/Geo - TLF - Totally Lotus Jump to content

IGNORED

ABS Disable - Better Brake Feel?

Nice day out today so I dug out the instruction for disabling the ABS on the S4 to see how it would improve brake pedal feel. My car has a totally standard brake setup at present and is pre-Brembo :( apart from fairly new Green Stuff pads all round.

At first there didnt seem much difference as I first rolled out of the drive but once more pressure was needed during normal road use the pedal feel was much more natural and comfortable. The pressure placed on the pedal seemed to translate much more directly to the brakes. This started to give me much more confidence and feeling of control. :) Obviously, I probably wouldnt think that if I had to stop quickly in slipperly conditions with the ABS disabled.

As Im a dry weather only driver with my car Im probably gonna keep the ABS disabled once I've got the brake setup fully upgraded.

Probably looking to go to the SJ Discs, Pads and calipers all round with braided hoses too. :o As long as the wife doesnt find out... :)

Im interested to hear anyones thoughts on all this ?

Edited by CarlC

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I did this on my S4s and found the pedel has way more feel and feedback - two thumbs up from me. I'm planning on hitting the skid pad this year, and will try ABS on and then disabled - will let you know what I find out ......

Paddle Faster, I hear Banjos!

Interesting - I hate the ABS and was going to look at it this year too with the option of switching it on and off - only issue is I generally hate working with things so critical as the brakes, scares me a bit to the point where I would opt to simply live with it.