Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
1990 Esprit Turbo SE - Engine/Ancilliaries - TLF - Totally Lotus Jump to content

IGNORED

1990 Esprit Turbo SE

Jacknick1

Hi chaps, I'm totally new to this and am wondering whether you guys have any advice.

I've just bought a 1990 Esprit Turbo SE and it has an annoying misfire at low revs/low throttle opening. It will tick over after start-up for about 10-15 secs then becomes lumpy and stalls.

If you pump the throttle however, it will pop and bang and eventually rev nicely over 3000rpm (A real pig around town, but almost manageable on a run).

There is a strong smell of unburnt fuel and immense backfires when it eventually gets going, so I think the fuel is getting through ok.

On a run it will occasionally smooth out and tick over nicely and run how it should, but prolonged periods of low-rev driving (below 3000rpm) has it playing up again.

The 'Engine Check' light comes on intermittently, but only for a few seconds and may not come on at all for periods of say, half an hour. And when I bought the car, the 'Low Coolant' light for the chargecooler was on.

I am in the process of replacing the chargecooler pump impellor as this was shot and the circuit was dry, so there was no cooling taking place. And I have replaced one of the fuel filler caps as one was missing (I don't know whether the tanks 'pressure-up' for fuel delivery, but have replaced it anyway).

The engine has good oil pressure, and doesn't overheat (the 'low coolant' light seems only to refer to the chargecooler circuit).

To me, the problem sounds 'electrical'. Though this doesn't rule much out as the entire vehicle is governed by more electrical gadgetry than landed man on the moon.

Could it be a possible problem with the Lambda sensor? Or maybe a dodgy IAC valve? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

post-5979-1239353134_thumb.jpg

post-5979-1239353197_thumb.jpg