Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
Total newbie wanting advice - Elite / Eclat / Excel Chat - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

IGNORED

Total newbie wanting advice

Hi guys! Im new to the forum and to lotuses/loti in general, so apologies if this isnt the best place to post this.

So after a quick dabble with a Scimitar SS1, I am completely converted to the lighweight RWD classic sportcar. I had a few minor complaints about the SS1, so Im hoping that an Excel (or one of its siblings) might be the answer.

The SS1 wasnt very practical, only had 2 seats and quite a small boot. And very little headroom with the hardtop. Also mine being the 1600 CVH engined one it was quite slow and very unrefined. So, is a lotus the answer to my problems? Does an Excel drive like a propper sports car, as well as being practical enough for day to day use and long journeys?

Perhaps theres a different model I should look into? (Not the Elan)

What sort of price should I be looking to pay for something in decent condition? Im not after a show car, but also not a project which is going to spend more time broken than running. 

Thanks!

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

I agree with all of the above bar Elite best looking, I'd go Eclat as my eyeball favourite but Excel far easier to own.

I've owned my Excel for 11 years. Totally brilliant drivers car, superb steering, sublime suspension, brilliant gearbox, twin carb, revvy reliable engine, rare and special looking. 

Excel are chronically under-appreciated and under-valued compared to far more ordinary machines from allegedly more exotic marques. 

I'm selling mine soon as I use my Evora more so don't need Excel alongside, message me for details if you wish.

Justin 

• Like 2

Welcome to TLF!

Another vote for the Excel, though I do agree the Elite is more special/ better looking.