Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
Have you ever found anything interesting? - General Chat - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

IGNORED

Have you ever found anything interesting?

The recent story about the fossil find in the Cotswolds got me thinking about a similar thing that happened to me.

As a kid, during the school holidays I used to work as a gardener for an old man, who lived in a lovely old former rectory. No matter how many hours I worked, he always seemed to pay me much the same each week. One week I was feeling particularly hard done by with my pay packet as I was weeding the kitchen garden with the garden fork. Suddenly a flash of light caught my eye as I turned the soil. I reached down and couldn’t believe my eyes: it looked like a fairly large fully-formed cut diamond. Astonished and with a certain sense of karma about my wretched salary, I popped it in my pocket and took it home without telling the home owner.

I showed it to my parents and my dad agreed to take it to a jeweller in Hatton Garden to check it out, as he was working in London at the time.

I was so excited when he got back that evening. How many thousands was it worth? Well none to be exact. The jeweller instantly dismissed any chance of it being a diamond. He did another more detailed check and informed that it was worth roughly the same as the amount of wages I felt had been underpaid!

So if it wasn’t a real diamond, what was it doing buried in a 200 year old village rectory kitchen garden?

Anyway I never did sell it and have since lost track of its whereabouts after several house moves. Maybe someone else has since found it and suffered the same disappointment! Or maybe it was a real diamond after all…

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.