Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
S2 Two litre - extra power - Engine/Ancilliaries - TLF - Totally Lotus Jump to content

IGNORED

S2 Two litre - extra power

Rolls

Hi

I'm new to the Lotus esprit world.

For those in the know - what the best way to maximise the power output for a 2 litre? Keeping costs at a reasonable level.

Even some correct post links would be appreciate.

Many thanks

Roland

Didn't realise the weather in Oz made em more powerful:-))

Think the (claimed) standard output for both 2 and 2.2 was 160, but the torque curve made the alter engine more drive-able.

Not sure how wear would affect it, assuming you meant "worn".

Warm as in mildly modified.

Just curious if many folks out there tweaked these engines to increase HP - what's the best bank for buck.

I've never driven a Lotus before but I was thinking that 160 would be a little dull at one tonne.

OK, ( feeling suitable dumb :) )

Can't help you there, but on our roads, I never felt the need for more power in my 2.2 n/a.

It's an old car now, and won't keep up with modern metal on most straights, but it still makes them look like they're reversing towards you when you get to the twisty bits.

I remember once, when an NS-X ( pretty new car at the time) pulled out ahead of me............ :)

Either way, enjoy the journey.

It's a car of it's time, enjoy it for what it is and ditto what Bibs says about going round corners.

If you want a faster Esprit, buy a Turbo. Read up on lotusbits.com. They can uprate a 2.0 to get about 210bhp but it will cost you. 

Pete

Pete '79 S2

LEW Miss September 2009

Sure. I'm certainly into being in the era. I was worried it would be a little underpowered. From what I'm reading is that it's not sluggish and handles well which is good to hear.

What would you all identify as the key minor upgrades to improve performance? Without going too crazy with the cash. Port and polish? Exhaust? Balance? Valves? Etc... Any comments would be appreciated.